Monday, August 16, 2010

Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2009 Shirley Jackson Awards winners were announced on 11 July 2010, at Readercon 21, The Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts.

NOVEL. Big Machine, Victor LaValle (Speigel & Grau)

NOVELLA. Midnight Picnic, Nick Antosca (Word Riot Press)

NOVELETTE. “Morality,” Stephen King (Esquire)

SHORT STORY. “The Pelican Bar,” Karen Joy Fowler (Eclipse 3, Night Shade)

COLLECTION (tie). Tunneling to the Center of the Earth, Kevin Wilson (Harper Perennial) and Love Songs for the Shy and Cynical, Robert Shearman (Big Finish Productions)

ANTHOLOGY. Poe: 19 New Tales Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe, edited by Ellen Datlow (Solaris)

Full details on the winners and runners-up can be found on this website.

Congrats to the winners, commiserations to the no-so lucky ones. But hey, being in the top five or six is a fabulous achievement.

No comments: